Little Clouds


Conor Oberst at the Ogden 4.10.2009
April 12, 2009, 10:20 pm
Filed under: review | Tags: , , , ,
condor got me again. its like im 14

condor got me again. it's like i'm 14

I was going to wait to get my pictures developed to review this show, but unfortunately I’m too lazy to turn in my disposable camera to walgreens. that’s right, we are 21st century enough to have a blog but not a digital camera.

To put it simply the show was good. I knew it would be decent, but to be honest with you, it was one of the better conor shows I’ve been to (and I’ve been to too many, trust me). Mr. Oberst was quite the show man, funny and drunk, and singing and strumming along with pure conviction. It was heart warming to see conor so delighted to play the other band members songs. It made me feel guilty about my scathing review. He seemed truly comfortable on stage, playing with his mystic valley band, I side of him the audience rarely saw with Bright Eyes. The trembling, shaky voiced Conor that was clearly full of nerves at Coachella 2004 was long gone and replaced with a confident front man.

The show began with the album’s opener “Slowly”, which started the show with the high level of energy that continued through all 19 songs. Conor’s “Eagle on a Pole” was definitely an early high light in the set, and was followed by Jason Boesel’s “Eagle on a Pole”, which the band seemed to have a great time playing. During Boesel’s song Oberst danced around the stage, singing each lyric. The set continued, and while Conor songs were the bulk of the show, each band member sang one of their tracks from the record, the best being Frietas’ “Big Black Nothing”. It was nice to see a frontman so willing to share the limelight with his fellow band members.

“White Shoes” was the best song during the two hour set. Oberst asked for a dark stage, and he alone strummed his guitar and sang so fragilely that you could hear each crack in his voice. The audience, which was at times rowdy and obnoxious, remained so silent you could hear a pin drop. It was the kind of performance of a song that will live in my memory for a very long time.
“NYC- GONE GONE” was a high light as well as “Roosevelt Room”. “Ten Women” was stripped down with the mystic valley band acting as a back up choir to oberst. “Milk Thistle” ended the set, and once again the audience was left with a nearly empty stage as Oberst and Macey Taylor went through a quiet, beautiful rendition of one of Oberst’s best songs to date.

The set was pretty heavy on songs from the first album, which was surprising to me. The show made it hard to hate outer south as much as I did. It was hard to be cyincal because it was clear that Oberst was having a really good time and was at ease with each song. His stage bantor was funny and his dance moves even funnier. The funniest part of the show was when a really annoying drunk girl kept screaming at him “Conor give me your beer”. After a little bit of back and forth about whether she was 21 (he looked at her I.D.), he obliged. But before he handed the beer to her he tried to chug it all so she would just get an empty can. He couldn’t do it and spit it all over the security and the people front row center, which happened to include johnny, our two friends, and me. I think it was pretty hilarious that he tried to trick the stupid scene girl.

I guess I am biased reviewer because the 15 year old fan girl in me that saw Conor at the fox six years ago still comes out sometimes. It reminded me of shows past, but it shouldn’t of, really everything about it was different other than the most basic elements, nate walcott, lots of drinking and a passionate performance.

in case you haven’t heard any of outer south here is my favorite from the album, and if you get a chance to Conor take it.

Conor Oberst-White Shoes

Conor Oberst and the Mystic Valley Band have a load of tour dates, I’m too lazy to type them all out, so just click here.

and for a little sneak peak of the documentary about him, and a really good song that should’ve been on outer south
click here.

-marissa

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

thank you for posting this ๐Ÿ˜€
i’m going to see him on friday at coachella!! was actually going to make a trip to colorado before i found out about the CA shows, ahhaa. i even emailed conor’s “people” to ask why the hell he isn’t going to CA on this tour.

then they responded that conor had announced coachella and i literally screamed.

so, what i mean by this story is, don’t worry about feeling fourteen again ๐Ÿ˜€

Comment by Nikki

It’s hard to seperate the fan from the critic. I don’t really see the big deal. What’s wrong with being 15 again.

Except for me. I hated being 15. Maybe 17 or 18.

Comment by Russell




Leave a Reply

