Little Clouds


kidney infection day 3

Johnny and I came to pueblo today. I was feeling pretty good all day but then at the end of our dinner with my dad at black eyed pea I got really sick. So we went to my dad’s and I cried and took a nap on the couch. I woke to my dad and johnny watching “the first wives club” which was the highlight of my day. I was sad/am sad because I am worried that I am not getting better : ( I still have a high fever, get chills, and can’t really eat .

so because I am sad I decided to post five of the saddest songs ever. Well, actually, just songs that at some point or another I specifically found sad. Don’t cry like I did today : (

in no particular order:

Nick Drake- Way to Blue
Nick Drake wasn’t the happiest guy. This song sounds like a funeral, literally. it’s beautiful though.

Elliott Smith- King’s Crossing (Live at the Henry Fonda Theater 1.31.2003)
This is heartbreaking. This song literally makes me cry everytime. In the studio version of this song you can hear elliott smith’s fiance say “Because I love you” after he says “Give me one good reason not to do it”. According to an article I read, she yelled that every time he played that song. On this live version, you can hear her yell it. It’s absolutely heartbreaking. I can’t even listen to it anymore. In fact, just writing this is making me sad.

Bright Eyes-Poison Oak (Live on the Morning Becomes Eclectic 5.2003)
I think this song is so sad. It is definitely the saddest on I’m Wide Awake It’s Morning. The meaning behind this song is very sad too. Sadly, it was written about Conor’s cousin who had past away. I think this version of this song is absolutely beautiful. I like it because it is unpolished and really stripped down. You can hear his voice cracking during it. I think we can all relate to it in some sense.

Joni Mitchell-The Last Time I Saw Richard
A friend of mine put this song on a mixtape for me. I had never heard it before, but fell in love with it. I told him later that I thought it was a really sad song, he didn’t understand why. I still stand that it’s very sad. I can remember being in my car in high school crying to it. I think it was sad to me because I was so lonely, and I felt like I was destined to become her character in the song, being a romantic and ending up “hiding behind bottles in dark cafes”.

Rivers Cuomo- Longtime Sunshine
I first heard this song when I was 14, before I went to high school, in my summer of weezer. I’d stay up like every night on the message boards just hoping to see ace (river’s screen name) sign on. I was a total dork. I thought this song was so sad. Especially the part when he says “sometimes i wanna get in a car, close my eyes and drive real fast, keep on going ’til i get some place where i can truly rest”.

-marissa

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

