Little Clouds


JJ casual
March 19, 2009, 4:34 am
Filed under: rant | Tags:

Jack Johnson, Nick Drake fan extraodinaire , you handsome devil you.
Today has been a bad day for us. Well, I guess that depends on your opinion of Jack Johnson.
First, I found a random person, presumably stealing our bandwidth, whose iTunes library included Creed, Garth and our favorite- JJ. Jack Johnson. Really, this wasn't a bad thing, it was a glorious thing. It gave us a chance to wake Chris up with "Mud Football" and listen to The Counting Crows. In fact, being able to listen to this DB's library was a high light of our day.

Then, Johnny dedicated his myspace to JJ, and JJ's relaxing nature and tropical spirit. By this point in the day, we had about enough JJ humor to last us for at least a week. But it continued, as Chris changed my homepage to the video of "Flake", a personal favorite of his.
Mr. Johnson continued to haunt us though, we saw that Andy Samberg had done a sketch mocking JJ, called JJ Casual. Thanks to Jack Johnson's good sense of humor, we easily found it on his very own website. A racist like Mark Wahlberg? Not Mr. Johnson.
But now, I find myself truly tired of running into Jack Johnson. As now, the humor of his bro-ness is gone, and anger has replaced it.
Apparently, Jack Johnson is curating a tribute to Nick Drake. WTF? He, along with Eddie Vedder and Dave Grohl, are covering my favorite folk singer of all time on a record released on Brushfire Records- JACK JOHNSON'S Record label. I don't really have much else to say about this. You would think I could see something like this coming, I go to CU, the biggest tool school in the world. I literally think CU has the biggest JJ fan base of any university in the country, if not the world. And while I've seen bros a plenty destroying my affection for Modest Mouse, Bright Eyes and the like- I never heard "Cello Song" blasting from a dorm window while I was at the dining hall. And trust me, I was at the dining hall a lot. I don't know even know what else to say about this.

The funny JJ casual skit from snl is actually on Jack Johnson's website. jack johnson.yep.

-Marissa

originally posted to littlebabyclouds.blogspot.com on 1.19.2009

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

