Little Clouds


excuse i
March 19, 2009, 4:47 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

So SXSW has dissapointing line up. I’m afraid to admit there are only a few bands on it worth seeing. However, Coachella finally has a good line up…I guess. My issue with festivals is, obviously, the cost. Is seeing paul mccartney really worth $300, a flight, and a fight with my dad. I don’t think so. (I never liked Paul anyway).

I just can’t seem to get excited about any festival anymore. Other than SXSW…last year. I mean, don’t get me wrong, I’d love to see Morrissey, Leonard Cohen and My Bloody Valentine. But the Cure? It’s not special anymore, we’ve all seen them now, they’ve been back to spotlight for years. Trust me, I know, I was at the coachella when they played the first re-united show five years ago. Maybe I’m just older now. Have better taste. or maybe, and probably so, I’m just cheaper. It’s sad really. We will probably find a way to go this year, but not necessarily because there is anything on the line up that I’d die with out seeing.

The bonnaroo line up came out today, it too, just didn’t do it for me. Bruce Springsteen and Phish are the headliners. But not just one day of Phish…a double dose. two nights in a row. I live in Boulder, you’d have to kill me before making me take a vacation to hang out with the same Ras-Trent assholes that I go to school with. To be fair, a lot of the bands on the line up are alright, Okkervil River, Jenny Lewis, Animal Collective. But all the good bands are either at Coachella or playing in Denver the week before. And MGMT is there, I cannot support a festival that has MGMT on the line up. I’m sorry. Can’t do it. Just the mere idea of hearing “Time to Pretend” for a two seconds from a distance would make me kill myself. literaly. I’m getting mad just thinking about it.

that’s all for today.

marissa

originally posted 2.3.2009

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

